Quantcast

Jeff Roberson / AP Photo

Fair warning: if you were already having a hard time getting over the Patriots' Super Bowl LII loss, this isn't going to make it any easier.

One of the turning points in the game was the Eagles going for it on fourth-and-goal from the two-yard line and scoring on a wild trick play. Quarterback Nick Foles caught the TD pass from backup tight end Trey Burton--but the play's formation was illegal and should have resulted in a five-yard penalty.



NFL rules stipulate that a team must line seven players up on the line of scrimmage for a formation to be legal. In the above photo, wideout Alshon Jeffrey (at the top of the formation) should be on the line but is lined up over a yard and a half off--clearly enough for a penalty. While SBNation's Alex Kirshner tried to argue that it was legal since Jeffrey checked his alignment with an official presnap, the evidence here is damning for Philadelphia. There's just no way to argue that this is a legal formation. The Eagles got a massive break on this one.


Like what you read? Read more by me here, and follow me on Twitter @AidanStenson!

Aidan Stenson 2/06/2018 03:05:00 AM Edit
______________________________________________________________________________________

« Prev Post Next Post »


_____________________________________________________________________________________

    Powered by Blogger.