Crazy stat of the day: Patriots have started 5 QBs since 2000, while Dolphins started 17

Jim Rogash | Getty Images

Since Tom Brady entered the league back in 2000, he is one of just five quarterbacks to start for the New England Patriots.

On the other hand, the Miami Dolphins have started 17 quarterbacks since that season.

Thanks to the resilience and persistence of Brady, the Patriots have been able to keep a constant signal-caller for the majority of the last two decades.

The four other starters for New England from 2000-2016 include Drew Bledsoe, Matt Cassel, Jimmy Garoppolo and Jacoby Brissett.

As for Miami, their 17 starters during that timeframe include Jay Fielder, Damon Huard, Ray Lucas, Brian Griese, AJ Feeley, Sage Rosenfels, Gus Frerotte, Joey Harrington, Daunte Culpepper, Cleo Lemon, Trent Green, John Beck, Chad Pennington, Chad Henne, Tyler Thigpen, Matt Moore and Ryan Tannehill. Tannehill has had the longest run of the group since he took over as full-time starter in 2012.

It wasn’t always this stable for New England and unstable for Miami, however.

During the same timespan before (1983-1999), the Dolphins had nine different starting quarterbacks, while the Patriots had 12.

Things can change in an instance, especially in the NFL. But when you find a rarity such as Tom Brady who brings a successful persistence to a franchise, it can mean very good things for your team.

Follow Megan on Twitter: @carnahanmegan